top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLexine

I've Loved You

A poem

I’ve known you


Before anything was…your breath of life was within me


I’ve loved you


Mere words can’t explain


A passion enveloped in 1 Corinthians 13


A royal king and queen


You’re mine


I’ve bought you at price


No not with money, silver or gold


I bought you with my own life


You’re taken


My church my bride


The greatest love story from the inception of time


But I can’t have you


My love is righteously jealous


Too blazing hot for your lukewarm


No more long nights waiting for you to come home


My yoke is easy yet you take on what is hard


Pleasure has become your god


A little sip of strong drink


Stripping you of the purity I created you to be


No I can’t compromise


I placed eternity in your heart


All that is fleeting will never satisfy, please depart


His romantic ways can never fill that hole


Run! Her kiss will steal your soul


I’ll change you back to who you were


You must decide


I cannot wait forever


The end is near


The last days are here


Stop looking through screens and scrolling through pages


You’ll never find your reflection where light does not exist


I alone can mirror this person you’re trying to fix


Come


It’s morning and you’re hung over


Yet, I will take you


Throw it up


Regurgitate all the remnants of your past


Because I still love you


And no amount of sin can change that


Hold my hand


Stretched out across this wooden cross


I’m dying to reach you


So draw near


Peel back all the layers in my presence


I see it all


The several coats of fraud blanketing your flaws


My blood will wash you


Like bleach beyond the stars


Don’t be ashamed


There’s salvation in my name


I can sense your fear


I know you’re afraid


What if the world leaves me behind?


What about the dream job I hope to find?


What if my lover doesn’t wait for me?


What if getting high makes me feel free?


But surely surely I profess to thee


All you will ever need is found in me


For what lies before you will soon dissolve


This flesh, this body will one day evolve


Listen carefully for I have much for you


Let my holy word pierce right through


Bear with the stinging hiss of conviction


For the cut is part of the transition


Sit still as I turn up the heat


The fire is key in this refinery


No need to search too far


For I’m right where you left me


Come just as you are


I will fill your empty


My river never runs dry


I love you


There’s no need to hide


“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

-JESUS


YES! Issa poem by yours truly! I hope those lines resonated with you. Happy Resurrection Day Bingers!!


113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page